How to Fully Erase your iPad Before Putting it on Sale

Wholesale IPad 3

Fully Erase IPad

Fully erasing the iPad is necessary especially if you are deciding to sell the device. This will remove all the data from the device that will prevent anyone from getting hands on your personal data once it is offered for sale. Besides erasing the entire data on the device, it is also highly necessary to restore the iPad to its factory settings. This will effectively remove all traces of data from the iPad and make it fresh as new for sale. Below is how to fully erase your iPad before putting it on sale.

Backing Up

One of the first steps before fully erasing the data is to ensure that all the data in your iPad is backed up securely. The backing up of the device can be carried out either through the iCloud backup or iTunes. For backing up, first ensure that the device is connected to a reliable Wi-Fi connection. Then go to Settings > (Your Name) and choose the iCloud option making sure that iCloud Backup is turned on. Select the Back Up Now option and wait until the backup process is completed.

For backing up via iTunes on a PC, open the iTunes app on the computer and connect your device to the PC. Select your iPad device displayed in iTunes, and click on the Back Up Now option for backing up the data on the iPad.

Erasing the iPad

Fully erasing the data is the next important step after successfully backing up all your data via iCloud or iTunes. This will ensure that your iPad device will remain new, which is essential if you intend to resell the device to any wholesale iPad site. For fully erasing the data on the device, go to Settings > General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings. This will require you to enter your designated passcode and to turn off the Find My iPad feature if it is not turned off. For this, you will need to enter your Apple ID and password.

The iPad will be free of all the data and accounts after it is fully erased. You will also receive notifications on any other iOS devices that you use with the same Apple ID, indicating that your iPad has been removed from the account. This will make sure that your iPad is ready to put up for sale.